Jacqui and Shira’s Epic Baked Apples

Standard

IMG_0325-0.JPG A few weekends ago I went away with some friends. We just traveled a few hours from the city and rented a house for the weekend (I’m going through an Airbnb obsession right now). My favorite thing to do on a weekend away, which should come as no surprise, is to cook big fun meals and get everyone involved. All my friends were on board, but this group came with lots of baggage. I’m dairy-free, someone else is gluten-free, and someone else is vegetarian. Oof! Daunting, right? It’s a good thing we’re up for a challenge.

Gluten-free desserts are often a hit-or-miss game for me. I have a few go-to recipes (see chewy chocolate brownie cookies), but baked apples might be my favorite. These babies are so much better than what probably comes to mind when I say “baked apples.” My friends in college would sometimes make these for us on long nights of baking. They are cored, plugged with peanut butter, stuffed with oats and chocolate chips, and plugged back up with more peanut butter. Pro tip: they make an excellent breakfast. They are so easy and SO good. Thank you Jacqui and Shira for this deeeelish recipe! The only negative is that they take about an hour to bake and the smell can really try my patience. By the time they were done in the oven during our girls weekend, almost everyone was asleep! We ended up with baked apples for breakfast and no regrets.

Jacqui and Shira’s Epic Baked Apples
Makes 2 apples
2 apples, preferably small enough to fit in a muffin tin
4 Tbsp peanut butter
1/4 cup oats
1-1/2 Tbsp water
Handful of chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350°. Cut the core out of your apples but try not to break them in half. I cut a hexagon in my apple, running my knife through it many times and then turning it over and doing the same thing through the other end. It’s a struggle, but if you run your knife through enough times you should be able to pop out your core.

Plug the bottom of your apple up with about one tablespoon peanut butter. Place your apple in a muffin tin or on a cookie sheet. I prefer a muffin tin because it keeps the apple from splitting while it cooks. Next, mix your oats with the water and chocolate chips. You just want enough water to get the oats damp, they’ll cook in the apple juices. Stuff your apple with the oat mixture, pushing it down to pack it in. Leave a little room in the top of the apple to plug back up with another tablespoon of peanut butter. Repeat all the steps with your second apple.

Bake apples for one hour or until your apples are nice and soft. It might take a little longer depending on the size of your apples. Be patient, I promise it’s worth it!

IMG_0310.JPG

The perfectly cored apple (as perfect as I could!)

IMG_0314.JPG

Apples before they went into the oven… I made a few extra.

IMG_0339

They’re certainly not the most beautiful– but they are delicious enough to make up for it!

Leave a Reply

