Butternut Squash Soup

Standard

IMG_9917

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Holidays! It’s been a little while since I blogged, and honestly it’s been a little while since I cooked. I’ve had a busy month of I-don’t-even-know-what. Restaurant outings and babysitting nights? I guess. Anyways, this week I’m back in the kitchen! Yesterday I made eggs benedict with dairy-free hollandaise! It wasn’t photo ready so I’ll have to make it again but I can’t wait to share it with you.

Tonight was a soup night because this afternoon I had a dentist appointment. Apparently they aren’t joking when they tell you flossing is important. I had some cavities filled and a very numb mouth. Soup was all I could really handle. But by the time I finished cooking, I was ready to eat it. I could even feel my lips again, hallelujah!

IMG_9908

Happy Holidays from our apartment!

This recipe adds apples for some extra sweetness and pumpkin puree for some extra creaminess. I happened to have pumpkin sitting on my counter, otherwise I probably would have left it out. But the apple is a really great addition. The original recipe also includes bacon, but I replaced with some olive oil since it’s mainly about cooking the onions in bacon grease. I wanted to make this vegetarian (I later realized I only had chicken broth on hand).

IMG_9890.JPG

This festive little guy lives in our kitchen.

Butternut Squash Soup
Based on this recipe from Smile Sandwich

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves
2 apples, peeled and diced
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and diced
1 cup pumpkin puree (optional)
1 32 ounce box broth of your choice
2 tsp ginger
1 tsp salt, to taste
1/2 tsp pepper, to taste
1/2 tsp fresh or dried thyme
1/4 red pepper flakes

Heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onion, garlic, and apple and cook for a few minutes. In the meantime, microwave the butternut squash for 5 minutes. If you’d rather not use the microwave, you can probably skip this step and cook the squash a little longer.

Add the squash, ginger, salt, pepper, thyme, and red pepper flakes to the pan and cook until soft, about 10-15 minutes. Add the broth and the pumpkin. Bring to a boil, then down to a simmer. Simmer for 15-20 minutes until everything is soft.

Remove from heat and immersion blend everything or transfer everything to a blender. Add more salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_9894.JPG

The soup before being blended.

IMG_9899

Here it is after a trip through the immersion blender!

 

 

Leave a Reply

